Department of Micro-Nano Electronics


Department of Micro-Nano Electronics was formed by merging Micro-Nano Science and Technology Institute and the School of Microelectronics. It’s history can be traced back to Large Scale Integrated Circuit Institute established in 1983 and Information Storage Research Center founded in 1985. It is a teaching and research entity under the school of Electronic Information and Electrical Engineering. The department has integrated faculty and research resources of SJTU in the field of Microelectronics and Nanoscience.

The department owns one National Training Bases for IC talents, one Key Laboratory for Thin Film and Microfabrication Technology of Ministry of Education  (TFMLab) and one National Key Laboratory of Science and Technology on Micro/Nano Fabrication. It has 56 full-time teachers including 19 professors and 23 associate professors. 3 involved in "Thousand Talents Long-term Program", 1 chosen in "Young Talents Program",1 Distinguished Professors of "Cheung Kong Scholar Program".

The department has developed a multi-level talent fostering entity to cultivate undergraduates, post graduates and doctoral students. The discipline "Microelectronics and Solid State Electronics" has been authorized to confer the Master’s degree in 1997 and Doctor’s degree in 1998. The bachelor specialty "Microelectronics Science and Engineering" and Master of Engineering specialty “Integrated Circuit Engineering" have been entitled "Excellent engineer education program" by the Ministry of Education.

The department has strong research capabilities in the three-dimensional Non-silicon Materials Microfabrication Technology, Nano-materials and Applications, RF and Analog Integrated Circuit Design, High-performance Signal Processing, Low-power DSP Technology and Medical & Bio-electronics field. The department undertakes national 973 Programs, National Science and Technology Major Projects, 863 Programs, NSFC Projects. It has won more than 20 National & Provincial science and technology awards.

The department pays strong attention to the internationalization and industrialization of talents cultivation. It has signed cooperative agreements with Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint Etienne (France),  Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal (Canada), National University of Singapore and some other overseas universities  for joint educational programs. It also has established various collaborations with many famous companies, such as Hisilicon, Texas Instruments, TSMC, HLMC, Intel, Teradyne, SMIC, IBM and so on.

[ 2013-11-29 ]