Department of Automation


The Department of Automation is the supporting unit for the discipline of Control Science and Engineering, which was established by leading scholar of the discipline, Zhang Zhongjun. Control theory and control engineering and pattern recognition and intelligent system has been granted the state key disciplines in 1987 and 2001 respectively. In 2007, it has been granted State 1st level key discipline. Research is mainly targeted at control theory of complex systems, control and optimization of process, intelligent robots, pattern recognition and computer vision, bio-information, intelligent traffic, etc. There are 65 faculties and researchers in the department, including 2 Cheung Kong scholars, 2 scholars from National Hundred, Thousand and Ten Thousand Talent Project, 4 Recipients of National Science Funds for Outstanding Youth, 5 winners of Program for New Century Excellent Talents in University, 6 scholars of the Dawn Program of Shanghai Education Commission, 3 scholars sponsored by Shanghai Rising-Star Program, and 1 innovative research team of MOE.



Second National College Intelligent Car Competition is held by the Department of Automation and Student from the department is the champion.



John Baillieul, Vice President from IEEE, visits the Department of Automation. President Zhang Jie issues him the letter of appointment of advisory professor.




The 50 Years Anniversary of the Department of Automation





[ 2011-08-29 ]